Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Grey Literature: Home

Places to search for grey literature

Formal Bibliographic Databases

NICE Evidence Search

NICE Evidence search finds selected, authoritative evidence in health, social care and public health.

PROQUEST - PILOTS

Published international literature on traumatic stress

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence.

 

Repositories Institutional

CORE

Aggregates open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide

OpenDoar

Direcory of academic open access repositories

Oaister

Uses Open Archives Initiative Protocol for metadata harvesting

BASE

Provides access to more than 100 million documents from more than 5,000 sources.

 

Library Catalogues

COPAC

Brings together the catalogues of c.90 major UK and Irish libraries British Library http://explore.bl.uk/

 

Web Search Tools

TRIP Database

A clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

CASH

A collaborative project provided by a network of librarians and knowledge managers in the health sector .

MEDNAR (USA)

Free, medically-focused deep web search engine.

Gov.uk

Government services and information

 

Theses

eTHOS

UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.

Global ETD Search

Search the 4,872,302 electronic theses and dissertations contained in the NDLTD archive

OATD - Open Access Theses and Dissertations

Advanced research and scholarship. Theses and dissertations, free to find, free to use.

DART-Europe E-theses Portal

A partnership of research libraries and library consortia working together to improve access to European research theses.

 

Websites & Bulletins

Grey Literature Report

Produced by the The New York Academy of Medicine between 1999 - 2016, Grey literature publications in health services research and selected urban health topics. (From 2017, the website and database will be discontinued but the resources will still be accessible.)

King's Fund

The King's Fund's Information and Knowledge Services provide a unique and free source of information on health and social care policy and management

Nuffield Trust

Provides evidence-based research and policy analysis.

The Health Foundation

Publications are available to download. Hard copies of many publications can also be ordered free of charge.

NESTA

Original research and influential policy work in the field of innovation.