Where is the Library?
The Bristol Library is located on Level 5 of the Education and Research Centre. The Weston-super-Mare Library is located on the ground floor of the Academy.
When is the Library open?
The Bristol Library is staffed from 9.00am to 5.00pm, Monday to Friday. The Weston Library is staffed from 8.30am to 5.00pm Mondays to Thursdays, and 8.30am to 4.30pm on Fridays.
Library members can also access the Bristol Library outside these hours, from 7am to 11pm, Monday to Sunday. You will need your swipe card for access when the Library is not staffed. The Weston Library is accessible 24/7 using your Trust ID card for access.
Can I use the computers?
Anyone who has a UH Bristol PC login is welcome to use the computers at Bristol. To set up your login, contact the IT helpdesk on extension 23939.
Weston has generic logins located on all PC monitors, so anyone affiliated with the Trust can access a computer.
Is there WiFi?
At Bristol, Guest WiFi is available for staff and visitors. To log in, connect to 'UHB-Guest' from your device, then open a browser to connect to any webpage. You will be redirected to a login page where you will be asked to enter an email address and accept the 'terms and conditions' of service. Should you have any difficulties, please call the IT Service Desk on x23939.
At Weston, connect to 'NHS WiFi', and type your name and email address.
Who can be a Library member?
Library membership is open to all staff and students on placement at University Hospitals Bristol & Weston NHS Foundation Trust.
How do I become a Library member?
You will need to complete and return a Library membership form. This can be completed electronically (you just type your name in the signature area) and returned to email@example.com, or it can be completed in person at the Library. If you complete the form electronically, you will still need to visit the Library to collect your Library card.
What are the benefits of being a Library member?
Print resources: borrowing rights for books and journals in both print and electronic formats
OpenAthens enrolment (unless you opt out): get access to UHBristol subscription resources
Inter-library loans: if we don't have an article or book that you need, we can get it for you
Out of hours Library access: swipe card access to the Libraries. Check opening times for more information.
Current awareness: if you opt in, you can get sent relevant articles, pertinent to your interests, every two weeks.
When will I get an email about my OpenAthens registration?
If you remain opted in to automatic Athens registration when you complete your membership form, you can expect to receive an email within two weeks. We will endeavour to register you as quickly as possible.
If you would like to register yourself instead, click here to complete the online registration form. (Please see here for information on which details, including email address, to enter when registering.)
I became a Library member at another NHS Trust in the South West. Do I need to re-register here?
You will still need to complete a membership form once you have joined UH Bristol so that we can update your details on the system and so that you can get full access to UH Bristol Library resources.
What is OpenAthens?
OpenAthens give you access to our e-resources. To access our electronic resources you will need a UH Bristol Athens username/password.
How can I get an OpenAthens login?
Click here to complete the online registration form. Once you have successfully completed the form, you will be sent an email with an authentication link.
What information will I need to hand when registering?
Please see here for information on which details, including email address, to enter when registering. A Trust or nhs.net email is preferred and will result in a much quicker account authorisation, whereas registering using your personal or home email address may result in a longer wait for authorisation, and may possibly even lead to rejection if certain criteria isn't met.
I have an Athens account from another Trust/University. Do I still need a UHBW account?
You will need a UHBW account to access our local subscription resources, otherwise your other account will only grant you access to that Trust's resources. Your previous Athens account might also expire if you do not update the details.
You can either update the settings of your existing account by logging in and selecting 'change organisation', or you can set up a new UH Bristol account by clicking here.
My Athens account has expired. What should I do?
If it is an Athens account from an institution you previously worked or studied at, you can set up a new UHBW account by clicking here.
If it is a UHBW account that needs renewing you may use the aforementioned link to log in and request renewal. If unable to log in you may need to request a password reset. If a reset also fails then your account will have been removed entirely, in which case creating an account from scratch is required.
I have forgotten my Athens Password. How can I reset it?
Simply click here, attempt to log in, and click Forgotten Password.
I have forgotten my Athens Username and Password. What should I do?
How long can I borrow a book for?
You can borrow books from our library for 28 days (unless it is reference only).
If it is an interlibrary loan, please refer to the date on the slip inside the book as other libraries have different loan periods.
How can I search for books?
Use the SWIMS catalogue to search for books and ebooks. The SWIMS catalogue shows the book holdings of NHS libraries across the South West, including at UH Bristol.
How can I access a book that the Library does not have?
If you would like to borrow a book that is not held at UH Bristol or Weston, you can request it as an interlibrary loan (see below for more information).
What are the fines for overdue books?
We no longer charge accumulating fines for overdue books, but will invoice our users for books that have been kept for longer than three weeks and require replacement.
How can I search for e-books?
You can search for and access e-books that the Library owns through our Library catalogue.
You can also search for, read briefly, and request the Library purchases e-books from a collection of over 750,000 titles through Ebook Central (OpenAthens login required).
How does the Ebook Central platform work?
To access the Ebook Central e-book platform, click here (OpenAthens login required). From here, you can search the collection of over 750,000 e-books.
You can read any e-book for 5 minutes. After that time, you will need to submit a request for the Library to purchase the e-book - this is done very simply through the e-book platform. We will consider all requests, and will notify you if/when we purchase your requested book.
E-books we have purchased can be read online or downloaded to your computer or mobile device. Book citations can be exported to reference management software, and you can also highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy.
How can I check if the Library has access to a particular journal issue?
You can check for particular journals through NHS Evidence (OpenAthens login required for accurate results). You will need to login with OpenAthens in order to see the full selection of journals that we have access to.
I know the Library should have access to a particular journal issue, but I can't get access. What should I do?
First, try accessing the issue through SWIMS. Where more than one journal access point exists, check the years and issues covered by that access point.
If you are still unable to access the issue, email firstname.lastname@example.org with the full bibliographic details of the article or issue that you require.
I would like to consult an article that the Library does not have access to. What should I do?
You can still request the article, just get in touch.
How do I request an inter-library loan?
Simply email email@example.com with the relevant bibliographic details of the item you require.
How many inter-library loans can I have?
There is no limit for items that we are able to source freely from our partner NHS libraries.
However, individuals are limited to five British Library interlibrary loan requests per month. This is because this is an expensive service for the Library. If the request is for a systematic review, or related to patient safety, please contact one of our librarians as further funding may be available.
Do I have to pay for an inter-library loan?
No, our interlibrary loan service is free for you.
The only exception is if you would like more than five British Library article in one month, in which case we will charge a flat rate of £5.00 for any extra items beyond the first five. Should we be unable to source a book through regular channels and have to resort to the British Library, each individual book loan and any further renewals would also cost a flat rate of £5.00.
How long will my inter-library loan request take?
An inter-library loan request will take no longer than five working days to complete.
BMJ Best Practice is an award-winning point of care tool. It gives healthcare professionals quick and easy access to authoritative information to underpin diagnosis and treatment decisions. Updated daily, it draws on the latest evidence-based research, guidelines and expert opinion to offer step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention. Find out more here.
Dynamed Plus is a user-friendly clinical decision support tool using expert clinical evidence, and an ideal quick tool at the point of care. Both point of care tools have useful mobile phone apps, and the app for Dynamed is excellent. Find out more here.
Clinical Key gives full access to 600 of Elsevier's journals, 1,000 books, 9,000 medical and procedural videos, disease summaries, drug monographs, clinical guidelines, images, and patient information. It includes FirstConsult evidence based summaries of health conditions and references from Medline. Find out more here.
What is NHS Evidence / HDAS?
The Healthcare Databases Advanced Search, part of the NHS Evidence suite, allows literature searching across eight key healthcare databases, including Medline, Embase and CINAHL. It covers a vast wealth of authoritative journals and includes articles, book chapters, conference abstracts, theses and other information sources.
Can I access the Library's e-resources from home?
Yes, you can access all the Library's subscription e-resources from home via https://www.nice.org.uk/about/what-we-do/evidence-services/journals-and-databases (see the A-Z list for quick links) and using your OpenAthens login details. If you do not have an OpenAthens account, you can register here (Please see here for information on which details, including email address, to enter when registering).
Can the Library help me carry out a literature search?
Yes, one of our librarians can either carry out a literature search on your behalf, or you can arrange for a one-to-one session with a librarian to go through your search together. For both options, please email firstname.lastname@example.org including the following information:
What information should I include in a literature search request?
If you are requesting to have a search done on your behalf by a librarian, it is useful for you to provide as much information about your search as possible. Be clear about your focus and include keywords and phrases you think would be relevant. Also specify any limits e.g. publication date, population etc., and anything else you think might assist the librarian in carrying out the search.
What training sessions do you run?
We run three main training sessions, each of which last an hour (though timing can be tailored to your needs):
Literature Searching: An in-depth guide on how to search the Library's electronic and print resources, including Dynamed/ClinicalKey/BMJ Best Practice and NHS Healthcare Databases. Useful for anybody who wants to find the best and quickest way to source articles and find relevant evidence.
Critical Appraisal: How to assess the strengths and weaknesses of published articles. We look at different research designs, bias and validity, and frameworks that can be used to support critical appraisal.
Medical Statistics: A basic introduction to the key statistics in medical articles. The session gives an overview of statistics that compare risk, statistics that test confidence, and forest plots. Additional content focuses on statistics that analyse clinical investigations and test difference.
Study Skills: A training session aimed at discussing and understanding the skills required to enhance your study, whilst also familiarising you with the library and the support and services it can provide.
We can also give a General Library Introduction, which covers how to access the Library and its resources, an overview of our print and electronic resources, and the services and training we offer.
What should I do if I would like to attend a lunchtime drop in?
If you would like to book on to a particular session, (or arrange for a one-to-one session with a librarian) please email email@example.com.
Can I arrange a training session for individuals in my department?
Of course. Please email firstname.lastname@example.org with the rough details of your request (e.g. who the attendees would be, any possible dates that would suit you, which session you would like). A librarian will then be in contact to discuss the details.
What is an Evidence Update bulletin?
Our Evidence Update bulletins (full list coming soon) span a range of specialities. Each bulletin brings together new publications and content from leading journals, NICE guidance, Cochrane reviews, updates in ClinicalKey/Dynamed/BMJ Best Practice, and other sources, tailored to the requirements of the speciality and user group. They are published on a monthly, bi-monthly or quarterly basis.
How can my department / speciality set up an Evidence Update bulletin?
If you would like to discuss the possibility of setting up a bulletin for your department or area of speciality, please email email@example.com.
Can you add me to the mailing list for an existing Evidence Update bulletin?
To be added to a mailing list, please email the librarian named on the specific bulletin. If you cannot find an individual name, email firstname.lastname@example.org.